Not just any cookies. I scoured the internet for ideas on what I could do with my spent buckwheat leftover from brewing our first 100% gluten free alternative grain homebrew beer. Nothing. Can you imagine? It’s not a common thing to want to cook with (lol). I had about 2 gallons worth of this oatmeal like gluey leftover buckwheat. I couldn’t throw it away. Not after spending all week painstakingly soaking, sprouting, roasting (aka malting) 3 pounds of the stuff.

So time to experiment! After doing some research into ratios of flour vs fat vs sugar and how much leavening to put and what different leavening agents do for the texture. I put together a little recipe to try. And shockingly enough – it was really close to good on the first try. Now these aren’t the traditional chewy soft type of cookies – but after baking them for about 30 minutes, and then cooled, they made a lovely little thin chewy but crisp type of cookie. Dark, rich, full of flavor from the buckwheat. Just a little tweaking and here is the resulting recipe:

Spent Buckwheat Crisps
Prep time: about 5 minutes
Cook time: 28 minutes
Makes about 40 cookies

2 cups spent buckwheat mush
1 cup oat flour (I buy this gluten free oat flour)
1 1/4 cup coconut sugar (this is what I have right now) – adjust for personal preference
3/4 cup softened coconut oil  – here is where my biggest adjustment was, and I might reduce it even more next time – also I may use butter next time!
1 tsp baking powder (use aluminum free! Here is why! Thanks Sarah for the great info as always!)
1.5 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp of spices of your choosing, I used a mix of cinnamon, ginger, & cloves
1/4 – 1/2 tsp sea salt – I would leave this out if swapping the coconut oil for salted butter
Dried or fresh fruit of choice – I used about 1/2 cup frozen wild blueberries and a chopped up fresh apple

  1. Mix everything but the fruit together!
  2. Mix in fruit.
  3. Spoon out onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet
  4. Bake for 28 minutes @ 350*F – Turning half way if your oven’s heat is uneven like mine. 
  5. Cool & enjoy! They come out a little chewy and a little crispy and a lot delicious!

**Note – my oven temperature in the 28 minutes would fluctuate in the 350*-375* F range- so your cookies may take a little longer at 350*. For faster/crisper cookie bake them for less time at 375* and watch them closely**

I plan to try out more recipes using my spent buckwheat, which for now is residing in my overstuffed chest freezer.  You may notice this recipe included no eggs, or butter – which is my favorite fat. I needed to get some cookies made for a trip this week, and was out of eggs and butter (the horror!). So I hope to try creating another variation of cookie, as well as maybe some spent buckwheat zucchini bread.

If you have any requests for a type of recipe to try with the spent buckwheat, comment below and I will do my best to put together a recipe for it!

OnlyMeg

DISCLAIMERS:
1. I am not a medical professional, any information contained within this website should not be used as medical advice.
2. Some links contained within this website are to affiliate websites and I may receive compensation for your following these links. (I sure hope I do cuz I wanna keep blogging!)
3. All information and product recommendations are based on my own research, bias, and personal experience.

