Out of eggs. A staple easy breakfast in our house is a couple hardboiled eggs with sea salt. Easy to eat on the go, takes minutes to prepare in advance. But today I was out of eggs. So what to send with my hubs for breakfast when he leaves the house at 5:30AM for breakfast? Meet a protein shake.

But I am not talking about a shake in a can or a pre-mixed powdered protein drink. For those of you out there who avoid dairy and soy based protein sources because of allergies or avoid all processed protein powders because of their high heat processing and MSG (a post about that is on my to do list) – what can you use for those times you need some extra protein? Grass fed beef gelatin to the rescue!

If you like a little science – my favorite aspect of using gelatin instead of other protein powders is that it is MSG free – you can read about the science on that directly on Great Lakes Website.

For a long time I would use this – Great Lakes Beef Gelatin – it is great. Grass fed and all that. Like most gelatin you would buy in the store its good for making gelatin snacks and desserts, you can use it in soups and sauces to add nutritional content. But – and here was the kicker for me – you have to dissolve it before adding it to most things so you make extra dishes, and it does not work well in anything cold like smoothies.

Enter THIS – Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate – a wonderful answer for smoothies and the like. It is all I buy now. Dissolves pretty well in even cold water, still has all the lovely benefits of being easy to digest, good for your hair & nails, and some good protein at 6 grams per tablespoon. For my budget cycle I usually opt for a two pack.

mason jars
(
photo courtesy of www.morguefile.com)

So here was my hubs breakfast “Chocolate Orange” smoothie this morning:
(this is for a 6ft3in 220lb man, feel free to adjust amounts depending on your protein needs)

8 Tablespoons Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate
1/2 cup raw milk (sources)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup Trader Joe’s unpasteurized orange juice
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder (my favorite when I can afford it)
Splash vanilla extract
Pinch sea salt (great brand)
Ice

  1. Mix the gelatin/collagen with the room temperature water in your blender of choice (I use a mason jar and a stick blender like this one)
  2. Add all the other ingredients and blend
  3. Enjoy!

Bottom line, this is the most effective SIMPLE way to do a healthy protein packed smoothie for on the go/in a hurry. There are a lot of great recipes out there – I find most of them too complicated, this has worked well for me.

OnlyMeg

DISCLAIMERS:
1. I am not a medical professional, any information contained within this website should not be used as medical advice.
2. Some links contained within this website are to affiliate websites and I may receive compensation for your following these links. (I sure hope I do cuz I wanna keep blogging!)
3. All information and product recommendations are based on my own research, bias, and personal experience.

