A friend asked me the other day, how do you live without a microwave????

People avoid microwaves for various reasons. I have my reasons. It all started simply because a roommate that moved on was the owner of our apartment’s microwave. This left my sister/roommate without one and we said “eh, who needs it lets not spend the money”.  And I never looked back. There is plenty to be said regarding the health concerns of microwaves: radiation, nutrient loss, you’ve probably read it all but HERE is a great article. On top of this my hubs and I in order to have cheap rent, currently live off-grid on a solar/generator power system – so we carefully weigh what is worth using power for. So how do we heatup our leftovers?

I do NOT, and let me make this clear, enjoy doing a lot of dishes or have time to prepare each meal of the day. So my leftover heating solutions are simple.

Step 1. Make sure your plates or bowls etc are oven proof
Step 2. Put your leftovers on the plate or in the bowl
Step 3. Put it in the oven or a large size toaster oven. I love this convection toaster oven we have. Holds quite large dishes if heating up food for more than one person.
Step 4. Wait.

Step 4 is where the adjustment comes in. There is no 2 minute lunch. But with just a little planning you can make this work and not be late for the rest of your life. For example earlier today I had some leftover tacos for lunch. I popped my oven safe glass storage container with the taco meat into the oven (without the plastic lid of course), turned on the oven and while it heated got ready for work. 15 minutes later BAM lunch. Scooped the meat into a taco shell and feast time!

What temp? Back when I had an oven that the temp control worked, or when I use my toaster/convection oven, I set it 300-350. It takes practice on timing of how long it takes to heat various leftover types.

BONUS METHOD: when I have room in the fridge and am going to be eating the leftovers at home within a day or two, just pop all the leftovers into a already dirty pan from cooking the food and throw it in the fridge. When it’s time to reheat, put it on the stove and heat. That simple. This works better with some types of leftovers than others of course. Then when you are done, you have to wash the one pan/pot that was already going to need it!

As an added bonus, if like me you have a low tech gas/propane oven with a pilot light – you will already be set with all the tools you need and know what to do with them when you lose power and can’t use all your gadgets! Hopefully you don’t, but if you are ever caught in an extended power out at least you will have warm food!

OnlyMeg

image

DISCLAIMERS:
1. I am not a medical professional, any information contained within this website should not be used as medical advice.
2. Some links contained within this website are to affiliate websites and I may receive compensation for your following these links. (I sure hope I do cuz I wanna keep blogging!)
3. All information and product recommendations are based on my own research, bias, and personal experience.

