I was looking for new inspiration for a make ahead breakfast this week, using ingredients I already had, and stumbled upon this recipe in my Nourishing Traditions cook book:

Spanish Omelette (potato omelette)

3 red potatoes – thinly sliced
1 onion – sliced
6 eggs
4 tablespoons olive oil (I used butter because “low” on my stove is still too hot for olive oil)
salt
pepper
thyme

Cook the potatoes in the oil, remove and do the same with the onions. Add potatoes back into pan and flatten down. Meanwhile whisk eggs with your seasonings. Pour over the potatoes & onions. Cook for a few minutes, pulling edges back to allow uncooked egg to flow down. Place under broiler for a couple minutes. Slice into wedges and serve.

Out of sheer laziness/lack of time, I cooked the potatoes and onions all together. I don’t know if it would have been way better if I hadn’t done this, but I do know it tastes good as is!

