This recipe by a fellow blogger caught my eye when searching for what on earth to do with this “delicata squash” that arrived in my CSA box of veggies last week. Initially I had prepared this squash as I would have other winter squashes – baked and then mashed. To this I added butter, sea salt, pepper, tumeric, and after initial sampling – topped it with some cottage cheese. The squash was delightful! So rich and sweet and overall just plain delicious – I had to search for recipes designed to highlight this wonderful squash for the next time it came in box.

So back to the roasted squash! After reviewing this recipe – I decided to try it. With some slight modifications 🙂

Roasted Delicata Squash

Ingredients:

delicata squash
butter
sea salt
pepper
tumeric
parmesan (optional)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Cut the squash in half lengthwise, clean out the seeds, and then slice.

Place in your baking dish or tray and drizzle melted butter over all the slices (I used about a quarter pound good grass-fed salted butter to 3 good sized squash). Sprinkle liberally with sea salt, pepper, & tumeric. As a side note – why tumeric? Well first off all it was delicious in the mashed squash I made, and second I have been trying to incorporate this wonderfully anti-inflammatory spice into more of my dishes. But season as you will – play with your favorite herbs and spices and never restrict yourself to any person’s recipe!

Place in preheated oven, flipping every 7-10 minutes (flip about 3 times). I am not sure if my oven temperature is accurate – but I ended up turning it up to 450 about half way through its cooking time. And by the way – yes flipping 30 or so little slices of squash IS a bit annoying, but hang in there!

When the squash is nice and tender and browned to your liking, remove from the oven and serve. I sprinkled my squash with a little grated raw parmesan.

This squash was also very delicious the next day cold and made a great part of a post workout snack!

Enjoy!

