Deep South Dish: Apple Enchiladas.

Came across this recipe today – and the name immediately intrigued me. Apples are in abundance this time of year, so I clicked it – knowing full well I would be modifying the recipe. As you will come to learn, for me a recipe is at best a starting off point, I have trouble containing myself when it comes to tweaking and playing with a recipe – even before I’ve ever tasted it!

But I had no idea how much! First of all – the flour tortillas had to go, I am a corn tortilla gal all the way! Second, when it comes to desserts I prefer them to be rich and satisfying. So in will go some cream cheese or creme fraiche inside the “enchilada”, along with more butter and less sugar in the sauce.  And then for that kick – this definitely needs to be heated up with an abundance of spices: cloves, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg – I am going to throw the works at it. And maybe just a splash of lemon…

When my apples arrive this week in my CSA box – I will try out my recipe idea as soon as I can. I’ll let you know how it turns out, complete with pictures of course!

